.44 Mag mouse fart loads

Discussion in 'Reloading/Ammunition' started by Doc1, May 15, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Doc1

Doc1 Distinguished Poster MSGO Supporter

I recently started shooting cowboy with a local club and had to buy the right firearms. This can be expensive, as they require two single-action revolvers, a pistol caliber rifle and a period-correct shotgun. There's no way I was going to max out the CCs and buy all this stuff new, but fortunately I already owned two single-action .44 Magnum revolvers. I had previously used these as pig hunting guns.

It seems that most of the hot shooters are using single-action .357s loaded with mouse fart .38 Spl. loads. The minimum power factor requirement is only 60, so I wanted to develop a mouse fart load for my .44s. I've been trying various light bullets, but wasn't completely happy with the results. I have an old Speer reloading manual (No. 11 from 1987) that actually had loads for a 120 grain round ball. They suggested a starting load of 2.9 grains of Bullseye. I bought a .433" Lee 120 grain roundball mold and proceeded to cast a jar full of 'em with wheel weights and scrap lead.

The Speer data worked fine and was accurate, but the low pressures kept causing the primers to back out and jam the cylinders. The most accurate load in my SBH was 3.5 grains, but the primers were still backing out. I kept gradually working up the load (and paid special attention to a tight crimp) and got the primer problem to stop at 5 grains. Not wanting to keep the rounds on the edge of possible failure, I upped the load to 5.5 grains. This seems reasonably accurate, still has very low recoil and the primers are well-behaved. I do notice a little more unburnt powder, but this is a small price to pay for reliability. Needless to say, such a light load doesn't seal the cases well so I also notice more carbon on the exterior of the brass. I can live with that.