Mississippi Gun Owners banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was wondering if I’m doing something wrong.

I have been casting .45LC for sometime now. Absolutely no problems shooting these through my Taurus Judge.
I started casting and reloading for my Taurus G3C recently and have noticed a couple of problems.
I am using the Lee 356 125 2R mold. I started on the low side with the powder.
The first thing I noticed was the many jams or the non feeds into the barrel. So I shortened the oal and this seemed to help. I had to increase the powder to get them to eject properly.
Some still will not feed , seating short.

The pistol shoots well with factory 124g as well as the 124g rn bullets I bought from RMR and the Berry’s 147 rn. Just not with my casts.

Could it be my lead is too soft ? I have had some lead fouling in the Judge.

Thanks,
Mitch

·
Premium Member
15,003 Posts
I am no expert......I’ll just put that out there now......but I’ve casted a lot.
For my 9mm plinking rounds,it’s almost exclusively that projectile from that mold......fired through a Canik TP9sfx,multiple 1911,a Frankenstein’d pcc AR,and feedmy mothers PT111 and another identical that rides under a seat. No issues with feeding and I seat them at 1.125-1.097.

I’d look at the nose of the projectile to see if there’s some marks from the feed ramp digging in or something else.

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am no expert......I’ll just put that out there now......but I’ve casted a lot.
For my 9mm plinking rounds,it’s almost exclusively that projectile from that mold......fired through a Canik TP9sfx,multiple 1911,a Frankenstein’d pcc AR,and feedmy mothers PT111 and another identical that rides under a seat. No issues with feeding and I seat them at 1.125-1.097.

I’d look at the nose of the projectile to see if there’s some marks from the feed ramp digging in or something else.
Thanks for the quick reply.