Mississippi Gun Owners banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I do archaeological survey for a living and so I wear a backpack while at work. In some of the locations I work in a sidearm is just a smart thing to have due to predators. Has anyone used a chest rig to carry ? Not going with a thigh holster since I climb over and through brush all the time and I have yet to find one that is comfortable for 8-10 hours.
Any one have recommendations?

·
Premium Member
10,467 Posts
There was another thread just recently, dicussing holsters & shoulder rigs were mention.
Might try search.

·
Registered
4,450 Posts
google tanker chest rig

fit a bit more snug and secure, not quite as fast a draw as a tradition shoulder holster, but keeps your weapon close enough for snakes or someone walking up to you.
various pricing depending on weapon and materials, even can find ww2 surplus or replicas think that was called a M7 tankers holster

·
Eat Sleep Guns & Jeep
10,375 Posts
Galco Classic Lite

So a shoulder holster or a chest rig. Like loaded with battle rattle. No experience but if already Have straps from a backpack then additional straps would be pretty uncomfortable I would think. Maybe a new backpack with holster in/on it. And why not just a good OWB holster and a real good gun belt

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I was looking at the Kentai rig Kenai Chest Holster – GunfightersINC

Mainly its for hogs and in some places there is a potential for running into puma, really hope I never need it for that but I ain't letting my crew get mauled either.
Can't be leather as I get soaked through on a regular basis

Bouncer: I forgot about the old tanker holster so will look into that. Thanks
Maroon: Regular shoulder holster wont work as I take the pack off a lot and the pack straps catch on the pistol, so it needs to be more centered. I tried my OWB but then the waist belt catches.