Mississippi Gun Owners banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Truth be told, I have never been in a gunfight. The closest I came occurred when I was about 8 years old at my family land in South Texas. My Dad, nicknamed “Grizz”, and I were out walking when we came upon a truck that should not have been there. The man in the truck jumped out wielding a .22 rifle and pointing it in our direction. My Dad, quickly shouldered his shotgun, and quite convincingly informed the man, he needed to put his “peashooter” AWAY and LEAVE. The man, realizing he was outgunned and in the wrong place, packed up and left in a hurry (Que the Benny Hill Theme Music). Even as a young boy, it was easy for me to realize, 1) events like this happen very quickly, and 2) you must take quick and decisive action. It also helps if your Dad is an imposing “Grizzly Adams” looking fellow that yells really LOUD!

Fast forward 40 years. As a Firearms Instructor, I have been very fortunate to train with multiple industry experts that know a thing or two about gunfights. And why they all have different experiences, the information gained from them in the classroom and on the range sound eerily familiar and confirm the actions I saw that day in South Texas.

Read the rest below!

·
Registered
745 Posts
Rule #2 Pull your gun first...? Get him before he has a chance to even think about pulling his...like when he’s looking away or something...

·
Registered
1,190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Rule #2 Pull your gun first...? Get him before he has a chance to even think about pulling his...like when he’s looking away or something...