Hail To The Chief(‘s Special)

Discussion in 'Firearms Gallery' started by Jp1950, Mar 19, 2018.

1. Jp1950

Jp1950 Active Member

posted my cleanup of a neglected Taurus Judge recently and here’s my attempt on a 1970s S&W Model 36 Chief's Special (modified to have a bobbed hammer at some point). I'm no expert, but I learn and try. What I saw here is rust, pitting, general grime & loss of bluing. I take a lot of pictures, and here are some before and afters.

C6399E88-CDE7-44DF-B4E6-19E8AB7B9D23.jpeg 8B112F3C-03CA-49F0-B00E-E3A3BA95C81E.jpeg 52BA8B8B-4EC4-4692-BA03-7CF7AE25DA52.jpeg

B9CA0DAF-4D62-4A1D-815D-0BB70DD0DA68.jpeg

EF17C794-0B96-434D-8F99-2E5CCB7F1541.jpeg

350D6EAF-27A7-4EAC-A7F5-F0DDE7F6E934.jpeg

Attached Files:

Mesquite, Jeff700, 4x4moses and 12 others like this.
  2. rigrat

rigrat Semper Fi

Nice love the little bobbed 36, good job on it also.

Mesquite, 4x4moses, Quickeye and 3 others like this.

3. Cliff731

Cliff731 Danged ole' Hermit...

A great job well done on reviving that long neglected Chief's Special...!!! :101010::101010:

Mesquite, 4x4moses, Quickeye and 3 others like this.
  4. Jp1950

Jp1950 Active Member

Thanks so much!

Cliff731 likes this.
  5. bubbat

bubbat Gatekeeper to my corner of Hell.

Clinton
    Nice Chief's. I had my wife's grandfather's Chief that was built in the late 50's for years, sweet little gun. Wife's aunt wanted to use it when she moved to Texas about 5yrs ago so I let her take it.

Last edited: Mar 19, 2018
    Mesquite, 4x4moses, Quickeye and 5 others like this.
  6. 94LEVERFAN

94LEVERFAN Distinguished Poster

I bought one

Saturday, haven't even loaded it yet. Girlfriend still has one her Dad gave her when she turned 15. (44 yrs ago). She still has the original box, sales receipt, and the letter from Hinds County SO where it was registered. Back then, that was required. She calls it "BLUE".

Mesquite, 4x4moses, Quickeye and 5 others like this.
  7. cottonmouth

cottonmouth Distinguished Poster