Mississippi Gun Owners banner

Which would be your self defense weapon of choice?

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi there! I am a middle-aged brazilian photographer, married to a policewoman and got 2 beautiful baby girls.
Here in brazil we have heavy limitations on gun ownership, and you can get up to 6 years in jail for having an unlicensed weapon. however with this pandemic, and some other factors, the criminality rate is skyrocketing. so to protect my family I decided to purchase a firearm. But this is my problem:

In brazil when someone breaks in, you have 2 enemies! the thief and the judge who most likely will try to end you after the fact. SO the event of a home invasion;

1- my wife can only carry a revolver from .22 up to .357magnum and if I use her gun, I can go to jail ,once I don't have a license to use HER gun. I have to have my license to use my gun.
2. I can only use legally handguns calibers from .22 to .40 for pistols and up to .357 for revolvers.
3. I cannot shot 2+ rounds on the invader, (some judges consider this excess) and I may end up in jail. ( unless I can prove the shot first)
4. I cant shoot in the head ( same reason above)

so my fellow law-abiding citizens, if you were in my shoes, and needed to follow those rules, what is the best self-defense weapon you would buy? and why?

·
Super Moderator
8,242 Posts
What's the status on ammo availability over there?

·
Seeker of wisdom & Purveyor of the truth!
676 Posts
A rock and a stick is better than nothing, but get what you can while you can, 9mm may be more ideal for its ability, availability and larger magazine capacity.

·
Registered
412 Posts
9mm (semi)or 357 (revolver) in a handgun.

semi: I prefer a “hammer” rather than “striker”

Regardless, practice, practice practice.... even dry firing!

Welcome to the group, ppl w more knowledge than me will give you better info’

·
Registered
6,555 Posts