Mississippi Gun Owners banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,746 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A while back, a buddy of mine gave me a Lee Load All II 12 gauge shotshell reloading press. It had been disassembled (for reasons) and placed in a box. Until recently, it remained in that box. But now, it's all back together and ready to be put to work reloading the 400-500 (or more maybe) once fired Federal hulls that I've got lying around. Except, and here's the catch, I've never reloaded anything. I've watched many, many, many videos on how to use the Lee Load All II and feel very confident in my ability to perform the task at hand. However, I've no information on load recipes to go by (there were no printed materials with the press). I have no knowledge on types of powder, wads, primers. I've gone online to Grafs and Midway to order supplies, but I'm stumped by all the options. All I do is shoot trap and maybe I'll take up skeet later this year or next. My shotgun of choice at the moment is either my Mossy 500 or my Remington 1100 (it's getting old and I'm thinking of retiring it). At my local Club, the limit on shotshell for trap is 2 3/4", 3 dram, 1 & 1/8 oz, #7.5 or smaller. I usually buy the 100 round box of Federal 2 3/4", 3 dram, 1 & 1/8 oz, # 8 at Wally World for under $20. I know that by reloading my own shells I won't be saving any money, but I'm not fussed about that. I just wanna do it. So.. after all that faffing about.. let me get to my real question....

1. What is a good load recipe for 12 gauge shotshells for trap/skeet shooting?

2. What brand primers, powder, wads, and shot is most recommended?

3. Where in Mississippi is the best source for reloading components?

Please keep in mind that while I understand that I won't be saving money by loading my own shotshells, I am still trying to be frugal.

Let's Discuss....

·
Super Moderator
8,066 Posts
As far as your questions go . . .