Mississippi Firearm Permit Application Question?

Discussion in 'Mississippi Concealed Carry' started by John Taylor, Apr 7, 2018.

Tags:
  1. John Taylor

John Taylor Full Poster

Just a quick question, do I need to disclose a careless driving conviction from over five years ago on my firearm permit application? It does not show up on my mvr, thanks!

2. dzavoina

dzavoina Distinguished Poster

Was this a felony conviction?

John Taylor likes this.

3. John Taylor

John Taylor Full Poster

No.

4. dzavoina

5. John Taylor

John Taylor Full Poster

6. dzavoina

This is the state law where it states what is required to obtain a CCW permit.
    Its written in lawyer-eze, so take that into account.
    I'm not a lawyer, so I'm not going to give legal advice, you'll have to determine yourself if you are eligible.

Mesquite, mascott and John Taylor like this.
  7. John Taylor

John Taylor Full Poster

I do not think my situation would disqualify me from applying.

8. Jarhead5811

Jarhead5811 Rational Anarchist MSGO Supporter

I believe you are correct.

Mesquite, para40 and John Taylor like this.
  9. John Taylor

John Taylor Full Poster

I am going to not disclose the careless driving on my firearm permit application, wish me luck, if anyone thinks this is a bad idea please let me know.

Jarhead5811 likes this.
  10. bubbat

bubbat Gatekeeper to my corner of Hell.

Clinton
    If you can get a permit with a misdemeanor domestic abuse conviction that's over 3yrs old I don't think a careless driving conviction that 5yrs is gonna matter. nor does it matter at all. JMHO

Mesquite, John Taylor and Jarhead5811 like this.
  11. John Taylor

John Taylor Full Poster

My major concern is the matter of disclosing it since I don't want my application to be rejected for failure to disclose anything important on my record.

Jarhead5811 likes this.
  12. DEADEYE 1

DEADEYE 1 Distinguished Poster MSGO Supporter