Mississippi Gun Owners banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am a newbie when it comes to handguns, I just got my CCW. I purchased an XD-40 3" Mod 2. I got it from an online dealer and transferred to an FFL place.

When I field strip I noticed the barrel had circular marks on it and a couple scratches it seemed like. I have photos and wanted to confirm if it was supposed to come that way.

I fired 50 rounds and it seems the casings have scratches and small dent on the side when they leave the chamber. I am wondering if this is affecting the accuracy or if I really need to practice.

Anyone know if this is normal?

·
Grouchy Old Fart
23,650 Posts
The markings you are showing are normal. They are just tool marks left by the manufactor when the barrel was made. There will be more marks as the gun is fired because there are moving parts. You need to get with an experienced pistol shooter and look at their handgun. The spent shells are expanded when fired and the extractor has to remove them from the barrel. On some guns the spent shells hit the opening upon extraction. There is a chance you could have a rough chamber but if you do it can be fixed by someone who knows what they are doing.

·
Registered
15,440 Posts