close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Open carry in church.

Discussion in 'Mississippi Gun Laws' started by C3, Nov 30, 2017.

1. C3

C3 Full Poster

Ok. I am a pastor and have had a guy show up for worship with his glock hanging for all the world to see Here is my question.
    I know “if” he has a IC with his permit he can CC on church property but does that give him a legal right to open carry ?

Thanks for the input.

Jarhead5811 likes this.
  2. burninfilm

burninfilm Distinguished Poster

I am not a lawyer, but have been involved in Church Security for about 6 yrs. Here is how our Church in LA handled it. The law already states who can legally carry concealed in Churches, which in LA requires annual training, a valid permit and the Church administration's permission.
    Open carry is not addressed in the law, so our Church, which doesn't want open carry, passed a motion that open carry is not allowed on our property, except by law enforcement or Church Security team members while carrying out their duties. The thought is that a Church is not public property, so those who own or manage the Church can permit or prohibit open carry (just like any private business can) The Church membership, at a business meeting, voted against open carry, so it's not allowed.

3. TheBouncer1111

TheBouncer1111 Distinguished Poster

but wouldn't a member in good standing of the church also be considered, legally, as an "owner" at least as far as the CCW laws are concerned. I think it's treating like a business shareholder. But then, I could be wrong.
    If not, then who is considered "the owner"

4. Mesquite

Mesquite Distinguished Poster MSGO Supporter

In Ms. must possess a Enhanced Permit, a recognized part of security team/church leadership. This is a quick broad view of legality.
    There are some Threads in forum addressing Church carry . Research these.

5. onlymaroonmatters

onlymaroonmatters Eat Sleep JEEP MSGO Supporter

Laurel