Mississippi Gun Owners banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1,790 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My aunt just picked up a used Sig P290 at the local pawn shop. Traded in her LCR and got it ~$150 out the door, with a holster. As I’m the resident family “Gun nut”, she’s asked me to take it to the range to function test it, clean it up and let her know what I think. I’ve no experience with small, polymer, DAO Sigs and was hoping someone here may be able to educate me a little. Anything I should be looking for? I’ve read a little about some issues with the 1st models having light hammer strikes?? Any info or advise would be welcome. She’s nursing a wrist injury in her shooting hand and so it’ll be a couple of weeks before I’m able to take her to the range to shoot it.

Reactions: 94LEVERFAN

·
Registered
52 Posts
Hey Chris, I haven't owned a P290 but I have shot one several times. The only issues I have heard from owners of the gun are these:

1) Difficult to disassemble. You have to hold the slide back and remove the pin and everyone has told me the pin is difficult to remove.
2) As with any small pistol, those of us with big paws need the 8 round extended mag to get a good feeling with the grip.
3) Getting used to the double action trigger pull. I have owned and carried a P250, which has the same DAO trigger, for years and love it. It does take getting used to. For me, the best way to shoot is to "stage" the trigger. With practice it becomes natural to pull the trigger to a point where there is very little travel remaining, hold that position, and then squeeze to fire. I worked with my daughter on my P250 (357 SIG) and she mastered this in no time, and was very accurate on the range.

I personally prefer the DAO over the striker pistols. The P290 has true double strike capability in case of light strikes, but the time I have spent on the range with my friend that has one, I have never seen it fail to fire because of a light strike.