Mississippi Gun Owners banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is Mississippi's law regarding suppressors?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
466 Posts
Legal if you satisfy federal requirements, eg tax stamps. Also, must be registered with DPS. I don't think many are aware of the registration requirement.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
225 Posts
Send in a application pay a on time $200 tax stamp up to a 90 day wait......that's it..... if your are intrested i'll sell you one and help you through the registrations prosess.......Joseph...07/02.....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,753 Posts
gunluvinatty said:
Legal if you satisfy federal requirements, eg tax stamps. Also, must be registered with DPS. I don't think many are aware of the registration requirement.
Can you show me where we are required to register with the Department of Public Safety? This is news to me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,753 Posts
gunluvinatty said:
Thanks for going the extra mile with the cut and pate :thumbup: :thumbup:



§ 97-37-31. Silencers on firearms; armor piercing ammunition; manufacture, sale, possession or use unlawful.






It shall be unlawful for any person, persons, corporation or manufacturing establishment, not duly authorized under federal law, to make, manufacture, sell or possess any instrument or device which, if used on firearms of any kind, will arrest or muffle the report of said firearm when shot or fired or armor piercing ammunition as defined in federal law. Any person violating this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be fined not more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or imprisoned in the penitentiary not more than thirty (30) days, or both. All such instruments or devices shall be registered with the Department of Public Safety and any law enforcement agency in possession of such instruments or devices shall submit an annual inventory of such instruments and devices to the Department of Public Safety. The Commissioner of Public Safety shall document the information required by this section.






Sources: Codes, Hemingway's 1917, §§ 1110 et seq.; 1930, § 1139; 1942, § 2376; Laws, 1910, ch. 139; Laws, 2000, ch. 496, § 1, eff from and after July 1, 2000.

Called a friend Who ran the firearm permit division for the MDPS and he knows nothing about this. He is going to call around Monday and see if there is such a registry. I want to be compliant with the law but I am not thrilled about a state registry. Can anyone here tell me more about this?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
466 Posts
Dock Rocker said:
gunluvinatty said:
Thanks for going the extra mile with the cut and pate :thumbup: :thumbup:
Sheesh man. It was after 10:30 on a Saturday night and I was responding on my iPhone based on handwritten notes. Cut and paste wasn't an option and I didn't feel like typing the whole section when I had already laid out the requirements.

Let us know what you find out from the DPS. I would be surprised if they are actually registering them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
756 Posts
I own suppressors in MS with no registration other thn the Form 4 that goes to the ATF. My county prosecuting attorney isnt aware of any registration process either.

As far as I, or anyone I know (were all NFA owners), is aware MS has zero registration req's

Buy one on a Form 4 and enjoy! But typical wait times on Form 4s are 6 months, Form 1s are less than 8 weeks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
760 Posts
I sent my registration forms in to DPS "after the fact" of owning them for a couple of years. Will post here if I'm prosecuted and will be hiring gunluvinatty to represent me, lol.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,550 Posts
As far as the Ms " requirement" - I will be hand delivering mine to DPS once Big Brother returns Form 4...

The Big wait is on...I've been hearing 8 months on suppressors lately....ATF gets 5000 request a month....

Get in line....behind me... :lol3:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
643 Posts
Ok, doesn't (A) override (B) ? If you have a Form 1 approved by ATF (Federal Law) then doesn't that cover you?

I have the devil of a time trying to understand MS laws in some areas. :)

"It shall be unlawful for any person, persons, corporation or manufacturing establishment, (A) not duly authorized under federal law, to make, manufacture, sell or possess any instrument or device which, if used on firearms of any kind, will arrest or muffle the report of said firearm when shot or fired or armor piercing ammunition as defined in federal law. Any person violating this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be fined not more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or imprisoned in the penitentiary not more than thirty (30) days, or both. (B) All such instruments or devices shall be registered with the Department of Public Safety and any law enforcement agency in possession of such instruments or devices shall submit an annual inventory of such instruments and devices to the Department of Public Safety. The Commissioner of Public Safety shall document the information required by this section. "?

The markers, "(A)" and "(B)" are my entries. They are are not part of the statute.


Thanks

308th_sps
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
456 Posts
Your section B answers your question. It says "ALL" such instruments. The code is also printed on the form you fill out for the device, that the lady got off of the top shelf in the permit office. She gave me plenty, and I have since turned mine back in to be on the safe side. Hand delivered.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
760 Posts
I made copies of mine and sent them certified. If you didn't get the lady to sign for them it may be just as bad as sending them first class mail. I wanted some kind of confirmation and my return certified card is my get out of jail card. I wonder if anyone has ever been prosecuted over this law.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
456 Posts
keithinvestigations said:
I made copies of mine and sent them certified. If you didn't get the lady to sign for them it may be just as bad as sending them first class mail. I wanted some kind of confirmation and my return certified card is my get out of jail card. I wonder if anyone has ever been prosecuted over this law.

That's probably a good idea since the woman would not sign for mine. When I asked her for a reciept, of recieving the paperwork she says "wee don't gib no re'seats out".
I said fine and left hoping for the best.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,555 Posts
Hey guys i have decided to do a .300 blackout build and will have a 16inch barrel . I have decided to suppress this gun and will be my first to suppress. What is a good can to get and what is a wet and dry can and what would be better for this caliber?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
288 Posts
308th_sps said:
Ok, doesn't (A) override (B) ? If you have a Form 1 approved by ATF (Federal Law) then doesn't that cover you?

I have the devil of a time trying to understand MS laws in some areas. :)

"It shall be unlawful for any person, persons, corporation or manufacturing establishment, (A) not duly authorized under federal law, to make, manufacture, sell or possess any instrument or device which, if used on firearms of any kind, will arrest or muffle the report of said firearm when shot or fired or armor piercing ammunition as defined in federal law. Any person violating this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be fined not more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or imprisoned in the penitentiary not more than thirty (30) days, or both. (B) All such instruments or devices shall be registered with the Department of Public Safety and any law enforcement agency in possession of such instruments or devices shall submit an annual inventory of such instruments and devices to the Department of Public Safety. The Commissioner of Public Safety shall document the information required by this section. "?

The markers, "(A)" and "(B)" are my entries. They are are not part of the statute.


Thanks

308th_sps
This is the way I read it the first time also. If i have a freaking form 4, I dont think there is a reason to worry about DPS registration...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
760 Posts
It's a misdemeanor with DPS if you don't register with them. From what I've heard, there's never been anyone charged with not doing so. It's not enforced. Of course that could change if we ever get a liberal governor God forbid.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top