Mississippi Gun Owners banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Premium Member
27,266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So, tonight my 62-yr old sister in a NE BLUE state asked me for a (budget) CCW 9mm gun recommendation.

She has a current CCW permit in her own state.

No children or grandchildren at home -- just her and my BIL -- and is in good health.

Not a gun owner currently. Said she wants a 9mm, not a .380 or .38 SPC.

I told her that now was NOT the time to be gun or ammo shopping, but ...I recommended these two, in-stock, budget 9mm's to her:

I explained the online "buying/FFL transfer" process, and recommended the try before you buy, etc.

Thoughts or comments?

ETA: No Kel-Tec suggestions, please!

·
μολὼν λαβέ
35,154 Posts
I've no experience with either but often have wondered about the Remington.

·
μολὼν λαβέ
35,154 Posts
Canik TP9, one series.

Reactions: infosponge and 7557

·
Premium Member
27,266 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
S&W Shield
Shield 2.0
Shield EZ in 9mm.
Those were my top recommendations, but were all out of her price range.

I know: can you put a price tag on your life, right?

If I wasn't 1,000 miles away I'd legally gift her one of my 9mm's. State lines would be involved, blah blah blah

Maybe I will - my local FFL to her local FFL.

·
Premium Member
3,720 Posts
Wondered good or bad about it?
Wondered bad. They had massive QC issues when they first came out. They did release a version 2.0, but they still have some QC issues, as is common with new Remingtons. I've several reports of the slide being hard to rack on a full mag (Gun Review: Remington R51 v 2.0, Take Two - The Truth About Guns), which might be a problem for women. There's other issues like rust straight out of the box.

What kind of budget is she looking at? You said the Shield was too expensive, but those can be had for around $300-$350. Well, could in the pre-'rona days. Some places like PSA still put the v.1.0 Shield on sale for those types of prices.