Mississippi Gun Owners banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
906 Posts
I have not but, I have had experience with long magnetic exposure to steel (not titanium) firing pins and springs.
Some firing pins/spring combos tend to float and may cause light primer strikes.
My belief that it is only an issue in extreme long exposures.
Since this rig is at the end of the bbl ....it probably wouldn’t be any issue.

·
Registered
53 Posts
I have no experience with those magnetic mounts, I am curious about how well they hold up in an accident, and sudden braking or acceleration.

·
Registered
906 Posts
All ferrous metals should stick really well under normal conditions.
Accidents are a different story I’m sure.

·
Premium Member
14,536 Posts
They work and well. Many thousands of miles a pistol has been stuck to one in my truck. I don’t have that particular one but it’s function is the same.
the flatter the slide,the better. A Glock hangs from mine now and is rock solid,the M&P before was ok,the EAA Windicator was solid as well.

I’ve wondered about it staying put in an accident as well but seeing as your rearend and anything else in the truck/car won’t be in the same spot either......why worry about that. Worst that will happen in a collision is it’s on the floor.......if you roll and can still think about it.....well you’re just lucky. It’s kinda pointless to worry about....if you are......keep it stuck in your paints and digging in the ham.

·
Registered
1,753 Posts
It’s all good until you have a wreck. Then you have a loaded pistol with no holster flying through your cab.
Also nothing to keep someone from getting their booger hook on the trigger. That’s a big no go for me as I have a 5 year old.

Look up Texas custom holsters. They make nice holsters that mount in neat places in vehicles that will keep your pistol from flopping around the cab of your truck.

·
Premium Member
14,536 Posts