which 22lr ammo?

Discussion in 'Rimfire' started by jerhunter, Jan 29, 2018.

Tags:
  1. jerhunter

jerhunter Full Poster

I'm new to rimfire (mark 4 lite) and have tried a couple different types of ammo. I thought thunderbolts would be good, they were cheap and shot pretty accurate for plinking. After my first 250 rounds barrel was hard to clean but I managed. After my next trip out it was awful, barrel was heavily leaded and squib round stuck in the middle. it is currently at the gun shop, hopefully they can fix it. So apparently cheaper is not always better (imagine that)

Whats the best ammo?
    Do I need to shoot copper jacketed bullets?

2. Vick

Vick Distinguished Poster

In .22 rimfire ammo, there is really no "best" ammo...you have to try a lot of different kinds/loads to see what your rifle likes best. It also depends a lot on what you're doing with it...target, hunting, plinking, rifle, handgun, etc., and every gun is likely to "like" a different brand.

For example, I have an older target rifle that has a definite affinity for Aguila Super Extra (yellow and blue box) and shoots nice small groups with it while opening up a lot with most other brands of target velocity or high velocity ammo. It took a lot of benchrest shooting to determine this. You may find that your gun shoots best with CCI Standard Velocity or some other brand.

Since you are having a problem with leading and fouling, you might want to try a lower velocity ammo, but you may eventually even find that your rifle needs to have the barrel lapped to smooth its interior. Its a trial and error situation. Good luck in your experimenting!

3. GunnyGene

GunnyGene Distinguished Poster

With .22 you get what you pay for. CCI has always done well for me. And yes, get the copper plated regardless of brand, much easier on your bore.

94LEVERFAN, maxhush, para40 and 3 others like this.
  4. Rusty C

Rusty C Distinguished Poster

Isola
    I shoot nothing but CCI